The Jasper County Storm Water Management Plan has been developed to implement the minimum control measures (MCM) required by the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Phase 2 Program. The six MCM that are required for the program are:

  1. Public Education and Outreach

  2. Public Involvement / Participation

  3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination

  4. Construction Site Runoff Control

  5. Post Construction Storm Water Management

  6. Pollution Prevention / Good Housekeeping Practices for Municipal Operations

    The Phase 2 Storm Water Program for Jasper County covers the urbanized unincorporated areas of the County. These are typically areas outside the incorporated limits of municipalities in Jasper County ( Joplin, Webb City, Carl Junction, Carthage, Oronogo, Carterville, etc.) where the population density exceeds a certain level. The primary county agency responsible for implementing the program is the Jasper County Health Department, 105 Lincon Street, Carthage, MO 64836. The Health Department is assisted by other county agencies and consultants.


There are four major receiving waters within the county's program area: Shoal Creek, Turkey Creek, Center Creek and Spring River. There are critical habitats within the program area where threatened or endangered species could be found. The species, status and the critical habitat are listed in the Storm Water Management Plan found on the list of links on the right side of this page.

The purpose of the program is to educate and involve the public and other groups (businesses, developers, industrial, educational, and institutional entities) to consider the impact their behavior has on storm water runoff and what the positive benefits are to becoming better stewards of our environment.